TGIF Watermelon Salad

Happy Friday!  What a gorgeous week its been – sunshine, warm temps, blue skies.  It’s supposed to cool down a bit in the Bean this weekend, but with 55 at the absolute low, I’ll take it :).

Last night I tried Allston’s newest Middle Eastern food hot spot, Garlic ‘N Lemons.  It’s officially described as ‘Mediterranean-inspired Lebanese food’ and being 1/2 Lebanese myself, I could not wait for this place to open.  The food is great, people are nice and with counter service only,everything comes out fast.  I’ll have to do a longer post soon with pics & recommendations.  In the meantime, check out the Harvard Ave. restaurant on Facebook and Twitter – they also have a Web site that’s currently under construction.

In other news…Sunday is Mother’s Day!  Have any plans?  I’ll be headed to my parents’ house to make Mom a special dinner (menu cannot be discussed at this time as Mom reads the blog :), but I’ll do a full recap for Monday).  If you’re in the Boston area and looking to eat out on Sunday,  check out Boston.com’s list of Mother’s Day Brunch options.

In warmer weather I usually crave lighter fare, which is exactly how I was feeling about my lunch for today – a Watermelon Salad with Mint & Feta.  I’d be surprised if you’ve never seen this dish somewhere in the summer, but it’s often made with tomatoes and red onion.  I love both of those veggies, but not with watermelon.  So I guess just choose for yourself – that’s what cooking & eating is all about :).

Putting the salad together is almost effortless and should be eaten the day of preparation.

Watermelon Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups watermelon, cubed
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons mint, cut into ribbons
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons crumbled feta
  • Black pepper

Directions:

  • Mix together 🙂

Enjoy!

ALSO – Just won an AWESOME giveaway!  First blog giveaway win ever 🙂 and it totally made my day.  The official news hasn’t been released to the public quite yet, so I’ll have to update you all on my winnings next week.

Until then….have a GREAT weekend!

– Christina

5 responses to “TGIF Watermelon Salad

  1. Hi Christina!

    This is my favorite go to side dish in the summer! I love it and you definitely just inspired me to whip up a batch this weekend! 🙂 Happy Friday!

  2. Sounds amazing – will give it a try

  3. Hi Christina!!! Chris sent me your blog and I’m loving it! I can’t wait for him to make me some things 🙂 Happy Friday and wish your mom a Happy Mother’s Day from us!!

  4. ooooooh– what did you win? Can’t wait to hear more -Have a great weekend – Looks like I’m having watermelon!!

  5. Hope you enjoy the salad!

    Thanks Marisa 🙂 Hope all is well!!!

Leave a Reply

