Mediterranean Haddock in Parchment

Clams, mussels, fish, ‘lobstah’…it’s all good to me!  Even as a kid I’d jump at the chance to have seafood for dinner (thanks to Mom for fostering a well-developed palate 😉 ).  I’ve made fish & shell fish a handful of times at home, but with so many health benefits I’ve vowed to make it more often.

I first saw fish in parchment about a year ago on Food Network (one of three channels I ever really watch).  It looked so impressive when the chef opened the steaming packet to reveal perfectly cooked fish, that I ran out immediately and bought some myself.  That parchment has been sitting in my pantry untouched since then…

Until last night!  I bit the bullet and turned out some pretty awesome Mediterranean-style haddock.  The whole process was super easy and the finished dish was light and flavorful.

I decided on Mediterranean ingredients (I love me some kalamata olives, capers and garlic) but this recipe would be great with a multitude of flavor combos.  Are you a veggie freak?  Summer squash, green beans, zucchini and lemon juice would fit the bill.  Looking for more of an Asian-style?  Incorporate shiitake mushrooms, ginger and soy-sauce.  You get the picture.  You just need to make sure there’s some type of liquid in the packet, which helps steam the fish.

I made this for a party of one (me, myself and I, with some serious taste testing from the roommie 🙂 ) but feel free to double, triple, quadruple, whatever the recipe depending on the amount of people coming to dinner.  I recommend placing the baked, folded packets on each plate so guest can open together – it’s pretty impressive when the steam and aroma escape.

Mediterranean Haddock in Parchment

Ingredients:

  • 1 small-medium haddock fillet
  • 1/2 medium plum tomato, chopped
  • 8 1/2 inch slices of a small-medium zucchini
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped white onion
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon capers
  • 6-8 pitted kalamata olives, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • Dash of crushed red pepper flake
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • S&P (go light on the salt, capers are pretty salty)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and place piece of parchment paper on baking sheet.
  2. Layer zucchini in two rows, slightly overlapping each other and place haddock fillet on top.
  3. Layer on tomatoes, onion, capers and kalamata olives.
  4. In a small bowl, mix lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, oregano, crushed red pepper and S&P.  Pour mixture over haddock.

5.   Fold parchment paper around the fish like a tightly wrapped package.  Bake for 17-21 minutes, based on the size of the fish.

6.   Open packet to eat :).

Enjoy!

When was the last time you made fish?

-Christina

2 responses to “Mediterranean Haddock in Parchment

  1. Thanks Christina, this looks great-can’t wait to try it

  2. Christina – how I wish I lived closer to you!!! I would volunteer to be your guinea pig all the time – This looks delicious, and healthy- Maybe tomorrow night!

Leave a Reply

