Flatbread Pizza – Cooking with Leftovers

What’s your take on leftovers?  Love ‘em?  Hate ‘em? T ry to pawn them off on others?  Personally, I love leftovers – they’re an easy way to save time and money.  While I’m overly sensitive regarding what I think is “old” or expired food, I hate to throw good food away – so I use leftovers on the reg.

I haven’t always been this way – in fact, like most people, eating my leftover lasagna for the fourth day in a row drove me crazy…which is why I’ve changed my “leftover tactics.”  Instead of making an entire recipe that would leave me with leftovers for weeks, I’ll prepare all of the ingredients but only use half the amount to make a smaller version of the dish.  This leaves me with extra food that’s been washed, chopped, baked, broiled, diced, shredded, whatever, to re-do into a new meal.  Smart huh?  I know ;).  This is especially good for guys and gals who live alone or with roommates.

One of my favorite ways to use leftover ingredients is to make pizza.  The flavor/ingredient combos are endless and more often than not, I have enough food on hand to create something delicious.  Instead of making my own dough or buying expensive (and calorie-laden) pre-made crusts, I use Joseph’s Lavash Bread.  It’s made with flax seed, oat bran and Omega-3’s, AND there’s only 100 calories in a WHOLE piece – not too shabby!  Plus, when you pre-bake it for 5 min before adding the toppings it gets nice and crisp.

Last week I made roasted eggplant & chicken lettuce wraps, so I had enough leftovers to make two yummy pies – Light Eggplant “Parm” and BBQ Chicken.

Light Eggplant “Parm” Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 8 thinly sliced eggplant, skin removed
  • 1 cup garlic bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 ½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flake
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • Pam spray
  • 1 piece Joseph’s Lavash Bread
  • ¼ cup prepared or homemade pesto
  • ½ cup tomato sauce
  • 2/3 cup shredded part skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1 ½ cup mushrooms, sliced & sautéed

Directions:

  • Combine bread crumbs, oregano and red pepper flake in a dish
  • Dip eggplant slices in egg and lightly coat with bread crumb mixture
  • Over med-high heat, spray Pam in skillet and brown eggplant on both sides.  Depending on thickness, I like to put a piece of tin foil (or a skillet cover) over the pan to help cook the middle of the eggplant.  Place browned eggplant on a paper towel to cool.
  • Lightly spray both sides of lavash bread with Pam and in a 350 degree pre-heated oven, bake for 5 min
  • Spread pesto & tomato sauce over slightly cooled lavash bread
  • Cover with eggplant, mushrooms and mozzarella cheese
  • Bake in oven for another 5-7 min or until cheese is melted

BBQ Chicken Pizza


Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups cooked chicken, shredded
  • ½ onion, sliced and sautéed
  • 2/3 cup BBQ sauce (I love Sweet Baby Rays :))
  • 2/3 cup shredded part skim mozzarella cheese
  • Pam spray
  • 1 piece Joseph’s Lavash Bread

Directions:

  • Lightly spray both sides of lavash bread with Pam and in a 350 degree pre-heated oven, bake for 5 min
  • Spread slightly cooled lavash bread with majority of BBQ sauce
  • Layer chicken & cheese, then a last of BBQ sauce to top
  • Bake in oven for another 5-7 min or until cheese is melted

Enjoy!

-Christina

2 responses to “Flatbread Pizza – Cooking with Leftovers

  1. One secret trick I’ll share: when I make flatbread pizza, I always put down a few slices of mozzarella then add the sauce – it helps hold everything together.

    I agree with your thoughts on Sweet Baby Rays!

  2. Thanks Mike – I’ll have to try that tip out!

    Sweet Baby Ray’s is the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

